The Basics

I’m not really one for playing around with basic pieces. I don’t own any white t-shirts and I generally prefer things with an extra flair to them (more bang for my styling buck), which is why when I head back to basics, I think more about playing with basic formulas and methods for styling.

It can be a little intimidating when you’re thinking up what you should wear and you’re looking through every single item in your closet. Should you hit the world up with a snazzy sparkly skirt? Make it a little fancy with a printed collared shirt? I recommend thinking of a simple combo and then filling in the blanks: Sweater + Jeans + Socks + Boots. From there, you hit that magical point where you’re restricting yourself to specific types of pieces, while still leaving room for your creativity to shine through. So style it up, keep it classy, and go bold while also heading back to the basics!

100_5106100_5103

100_5102
Sweater: Newport News (Goodwill); Jeans: American Eagle Outfitters; Socks: ?; Shoes: Mossimo (Target)

YouTube Tumblr Instagram

Leave a comment