ELF Cream Eyeliner – Review

Hello all! Today’s review is on the ELF cream eyeliners. I usually rock with the Maybelline Master Precise Liquid Eyeliner Pen, but mine dried up and was not working for me anymore and I was in the market for a replacement. My school’s bookstore only stocks one brand, which is ELF, so I decided to give this one a shot. ELF can be pretty hit or miss with their products, but when the price of the eyeliner is only $3 I have zero standards or desire to be picky.

100_4792100_4796

The packaging of the liners is very simple as it comes in these clear little pots with black twist-off lids. It isn’t fussy, there are few bells and whistles, and I am 100% here for it. They come with a little liner brush that you can use, which is helpful for beginners who are looking for a low commitment entry into the cream liner game. I personally threw mine out (hence, the lack of pictures of it) as I already own actual full size liner brushes, but I appreciate the contribution.

100_4799

I picked my liners up in the original “Black” as well as in “Coffee” for those days when I’m seeking a more Ariana Grande-esque wing. Swatch wise, I find that Black applies much better than Coffee because the former is much more opaque. They live up to the name “cream” liners by being ultra-creamy, but the shade Coffee is so creamy that it feels thin upon application. It initially comes off as a little translucent and sometimes has the issue where the brush can cut through the product which can make your liner appear slightly patchy, though it is not as noticeable once the product fully sets.

100_4801

Both liners dry to a matte finish and then lock into place. As you can see, I swiped my finger across the liners a few times after they’d dried for about 15-20 seconds and there was only a small amount of streakage. They last all day on my eyes, despite my overly-oiled up eyelids, though I still recommend basing them with a primer or actual eyeshadow.

Overall, these liners are 2 of my favorite products that I’ve ever picked up. They’re easy to work with, long lasting, and cost efficient. The classic Black is definitely a must have and Coffee, while not formulated quite as well as Black, is a fun alternative if you’re just looking to try something new. I think these are great liners, particularly if you’re looking to rock a dramatic wing but don’t have the dexterity or patience for an actual liquid liner.

10 thoughts on “ELF Cream Eyeliner – Review

        1. I didn’t even know essence had one, but I’ll have to try it out now, since I’ve only used their white pencil liner! I’m glad you enjoy your pens though (whatever works best in your hands always ends up being the best product)!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

