NYX Avant Pop: Art Throb Palette – Review

Hello, all!

100_3480

I am huge lover of eyeshadow palettes so when I saw that NYX was releasing their Avant Pop palettes I knew that I had to get my hands on them. If you follow me on Instagram (which you definitely should, if you don’t already), then you would have seen that I picked up 2 of the 3 including the one that I have for you right now: Art Throb. So far I have only seen them available for purchase from the NYX website, though I’d love to know if they can be picked up in store anywhere else. They are $17 each, but at the NYX site you can get 25% off your purchase of them by signing up for their mailing list and earn free shipping when you spend $25+.

Here are all 10 shades:

100_34211

Unfortunately, like most drugstore palettes, these shades don’t have individual names so I had to number them. As you can see, all 10 of them are quite pigmented upon swatching and were able to hold up that pigmentation on the actual eye. Even the black shadow was intense, which is something that I was not expecting because my past experience with drug store palettes has resulted in very wimpy shades of black. Thankfully, the black in this palette is very buildable and can easily be transferred to an intense tone.

100_34831

I have also found these shadows to be very longwearing in terms of creasing control and color payoff. With the NYX Prismatic Eyeshadows, I found that if I wasn’t using my most expensive eye primer, then the color of the shadows would fade away and I would experience a lot of creasing, but so far none of these shadows have resulted in this problem. At the end of the day everything continued to look relatively close to the way the way they had during their initial application.

Sample Looks:

100_34911
1 in the lower wing to outer lower lashline, 8 blended into the entire lower lashline, and 3 in the inner corner
100_34771
3 in the inner corner, 4 on the lid, 6 on the outer corner, 10 blended out into the crease and along the lower lashline, and a tiny amount of 9 on the outer crease

Overall, I am very impressed with the quality of this palette. $17 may seem like much, but it is very easy to get it at a discount and will be even more so if it shows up at more stores like Ulta. I also found shadows 3, 4, 6, 9, and 10 to be the most easy to use in everyday looks. This being said, this palette is not for everyone. It’s very flashy and there are few neutrals to balance it out. This is not necessarily a huge deal breaker for me because I don’t mind working between palettes or integrating single shadows, but others might be looking for a nice balance between fun brights and easy-use neutrals. If that isn’t a deal breaker for you, then I definitely recommend it.

Tumblr ♥ Instagram

Leave a Reply

