Maybelline Color Sensational Rebel Bloom – Review

Hello, all!

100_3287

A couple of weeks ago I woke up to a lovely text message from my mother telling me that Ulta was running a 40% off sale on Maybelline products. I had actually already put in an order for some things from there the day before, but since Maybelline is one of my favorite drugstore brands, I decided to use this sale to try out a product that’s advertisements I can’t seem to escape: the Color Sensational Rebel Bloom Lipsticks. They retail for about $7.49 each, but you can pick them up from Ulta for half-price until May 10th because they are currently buy 1, get 1 50%.

Here are the 3 shades I picked up:

100_3309 100_3288 100_3291

They all apply sheer, but can be built up to a bolder color. They have a very smooth consistency, and apply just as such. Also, they don’t dry out the lips, which is great!

Coral Burst:

CoralBurst1 CoralBurst2

When I initially made my purchase of these online, this is the color I was most excited about. Unfortunately, it actually turned out to be my least favorite of the three that I picked up. I still love the color, but even when I started with my one swipe sheer application, I could feel the lipstick trying to cling onto all of those secret dry patches on my lips. Come 3 hours later and the lipstick had settled into a slew of fine lines that I didn’t even know that I had. The color is nice and, while it does transfer, it manages to last at 4 hours on the lips with no touch ups. I just could not get over how much this lipstick was seeping into my fine lines and clinging to my dry patches.

Orchid Ecstasy:

OrchidEcstasy1 OrchidEcstasy2

This is my top shade of the bunch! When I ordered it, I thought it would appear as having more of a purple hue because in the tube it appears as a fuchsia/magenta color. You can still see that tone within it, but all of my friends thought that it was just hot pink. That being said, this color is still gorgeous, especially if you’re just starting out with bolder colors. It applies evenly, lasts 4+ hours without reapplication, and never settles in any of the cracks in my lips.

Blushing Bud:

BlushingBud1 BlushingBud2

This lipstick is probably the most subtle when you first apply it. It did give a slight tint to my lips, but it was so natural that it almost appeared as if I wasn’t wearing any product. I think it’s a nice subtle color, particularly if you have already done a bit of a bolder eye and want to keep the lips very low-key. My only complaint is that it does settle into some of my fine lines and cling onto some of those dry patches.

Overall, I think these lipsticks are alright but they appear to be a bit of a hit or miss. I love Orchid Ecstasy and wholeheartedly recommend it, but for me Coral Burst is a hard pass and Blushing Bud is just okay.

Have any of you tried out the Maybelline Color Sensational Rebel Bloom Lipsticks? How did they work for you?

Tumblr Instagram

Leave a Reply

