Review: Rent the Runway

Hello lovely people! This Saturday was my school’s prom and rather than paying over $100 for a dress that I would undoubtedly only have reason to wear once, I decided to rent mine from renttherunway.com. I found that the idea of renting was more of a practical choice for me and also offered the opportunity for me to be able to wear a dress that would normally be out of my price range without breaking the bank.

My Look:

100_2717

Accessories:

100_2722
Shoes: Charlotte Russe; Wallet: Rainbow; Necklace: Forever 21

Choosing my dress was made easy as the site has you put in all of your body information such as height, weight, bust size, your usual dress size, and your body type. From there it helps you pick out dresses that are right for you and shows you reviews from women have similar measurements (which I found to be particularly helpful). After you find a dress you like, you choose your size, see if it’s available for the dates you need it for and, if it is, you can order it and also pick up a second size of the dress for free in case the first size is too large or too small.

My dress was the Vermelho Olinda Gown by Carlos Miele which was stunning, though the strap on the dress appeared to be made for a taller person, so it was a little loose and saggy. While I loved my dress and received compliments on it all night, I did not receive my free second size because it was damaged before it could be shipped out to me and there was no replacement for me to receive. I was offered the opportunity to get another free dress to replace my second one regardless of cost, but the notice I was given was so short that few dresses were available, though I did go on to order the Award Winner Gown by Badgley Mischka which was a different kind of gorgeous, though that dress never arrived as it too was damaged before it could be sent out to me as well.

All in all, I give my Rent the Runway experience a 3.5 out of 5. I loved my dress, the price was amazing (about $58 to rent an $884 gown), but I did not enjoy all of the anxiety I experienced because of all the mishaps I experienced.

Have any of you ever rented a dress or outfit before? How was your experience?

6 thoughts on “Review: Rent the Runway

Leave a Reply

